top of page

WE BELIEVE: WASH CAN CHANGE THE WORLD.

While people in most regions of Europe can just turn on the tap for clean water in everyday life, millions of people in India have to deal with water scarcity, have no access to potable water, let alone sanitation, and have to live with unpredictable hygiene risks every day.

The lack of WASH infrastructure has a direct negative impact on people's health and their entire lives. The interrelationships are complex and show how important it is to always see the topic of provision as a cycle. Or to look at it from a different perspective: Isn't it fascinating what can change when access to water, sanitation and hygiene is guaranteed?

viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_4199.jpg

WASH IS A HUMAN RIGHT.

In 2010, the United Nations General Assembly adopted the right to access to clean water, thus underlining the vital importance of the resource. Without water, safe sanitation and hygiene, people are also deprived of other fundamental rights.

WASH IS HEALTH.

Even clean drinking water is never pure, i.e., germ-free, even in most regions of Europe. However, the microorganisms contained in the water there are completely harmless to health. In India, this is a different story: Here, 70 percent of the water is considered polluted. But: Much can be done against water-borne diseases, among other things, with the help of innovative technological solutions for the filtration and treatment of wastewater. 

viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_4474.jpg
viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_4413.jpg

INDIA: A COUNTRY THAT IS CLOSE TO OUR HEARTS.

On the one hand, pulsating metropolises, and technology centers. On the other hand, regions where there is hardly any access to safe and clean water. On one side, an incredible wealth of culture and tradition; on the other, a great need to catch up in terms of sanitary infrastructure and wastewater management.

India is a country between worlds. It is a country full of contrasts, but at the same time full of energy. Always on the move, always with a goal in mind, and therefore a region that offers many starting points for effective foundation work. Although great progress has been made in the field of WASH over the last 10 years, there is still much to be done. For example, 90 percent of all wastewaters from households and industry returns untreated to the water cycle. A sensitive issue when it comes to the health of the most populous nation on earth. At the same time, there is also the opportunity to significantly improve the quality of life of the population with innovative technological solutions and local expertise, for example through filtration and the treatment of wastewater.

viega-foundation_mumbai_amit-chivilkar.jpg
viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_2688_ed
viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_3483.jpg
WASH INSTITUTE  |  ORGANIZATION  |  CHALLENGE  |  PROJECT
viega-foundation_India_WASHI_Institute_0

WASH INSTITUTE: NEW METHODS OF SEPTAGE TREATMENT.

DASRA  |  ORGANIZATION  |  CHALLENGE  |  PROJECT​
viega-foundation_India_Dasra_Ph_59_04-2_edited.jpg

DASRA: INCLUDING SANITATION FOR THE NORTH-EAST OF INDIA.

YUVA UNSTOPPABLE  |  ORGANIZATION  |  CHALLENGE  |  PROJECT​
viega-foundation_India_YUVA_TWBM0214-2_edited_edited_edited_edited.jpg

YUVA UNSTOPPABLE: SMART IDEAS ARE MAKING HEADWAY IN GUJARAT.

viega-foundation_India_WASHI_Institute_0

WASH INSTITUTE: NEW METHODS OF SEPTAGE TREATMENT.

India is a huge country in which it will simply never be possible to connect all towns to a centralized sewage system.

 

Accordingly, innovative ways are needed to provide the population with access to safe treatment and disposal of on-site sanitation systems. With the support of Viega Foundation, WASH Institute is deploying Mobile Septage Treatment Units (MTU) in the southern Indian states of Tamil Nadu and Kerala to help marginalized households in desludging their septic tanks.

Left: The WASH Institute truck in action: an employee in protective gear stands next to a resident whose septic tank has been emptied.

viega-foundation_India_Dasra_Ph_59_04-2_

DASRA: INCLUDING SANITATION FOR THE NORTH-EAST OF INDIA.

India has a vast and varied geographic, economic and social landscape, which varies from region to region. While there has been significant progress at the National Level to further safe sanitation outcomes there is a need to evolve from a one-size-fits-all approach to a more contextualised solution for the state’s population, sanitation budget and infrastructure and existing political commitment.

 

This is where the organization DASRA, officially Impact Foundation, which we support, comes in. It transforms knowledge, which has already been acquired in other states in India, into an effective lever in regions where resources and technological know-how are (still) lacking.

Left: Two sanitation workers in protective clothing stand at a truck pumping out wastewater.

viega-foundation_India_YUVA_TWBM0214-2_e

YUVA UNSTOPPABLE: SMART IDEAS ARE MAKING HEADWAY IN GUJARAT.

YUVA cannot be stopped. Because the organization is convinced: If you want to have a positive impact on India's future, you have to start with the people who will be its architects – children and young people.

 

In Gujarat, for example, the issues of water and sanitation are crucial for the development of their potential. YUVA uses smart measures and technologies to ensure that significantly fewer girls and boys drop out of school.

Left: Boys sitting in the schoolyard of a primary school where YUVA is working.

COURAGE IS AT THE BEGINNING OF AN ACTION, HAPPINESS AT THE END.

DEMOCRITUS

bottom of page

top of page

WIR GLAUBEN: WASH KANN DIE WELT VERÄNDERN.

Während Menschen in den meisten Regionen Europas im Alltag z. B. für sauberes Wasser nicht mehr tun müssen als den Wasserhahn aufzudrehen, müssen sich Millionen Menschen in Indien mit Wasserknappheit arrangieren, haben keinen Zugang zu sicherem Wasser und Sanitärversorgung, und leben tagtäglich mit unkalkulierbaren Hygienerisiken.

Die fehlende Infrastruktur im Bereich WASH hat unmittelbar negative Auswirkungen auf den Gesundheitszustand der Menschen und ihr gesamtes Leben. Die Zusammenhänge sind komplex und zeigen wie wichtig es ist, das Thema Versorgung immer als Kreislauf zu sehen. Oder um es einmal aus anderer Perspektive zu betrachten: Ist es nicht faszinierend, was sich alles ändern kann, wenn der Zugang zu Wasser, Sanitärversorgung und Hygiene gewährleistet ist?

viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_4199.jpg

WASH IST MENSCHENRECHT.

Im Jahr 2010 hat die Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen das Recht auf Zugang zu sauberem Wasser verabschiedet und so die elementare Bedeutung der Ressource unterstrichen. Denn ohne Wasser, sichere Sanitäranlagen und Hygiene bleiben dem Menschen auch andere fundamentale Rechte vorenthalten.

WASH IST GESUNDHEIT.

Sauberes Trinkwasser ist auch in den meisten Regionen Europas niemals rein, also keimfrei. Jedoch sind die im Wasser enthaltenen Mikroorganismen in der Regel gesundheitlich völlig unbedenklich. In Indien sieht es anders aus: Hier gelten 70 Prozent des Wassers als verunreinigt. Aber: Gegen “Water born diseases” lässt sich viel tun – u. a. mit Hilfe innovativer technologischer Lösungen zur Filtrierung und Aufbereitung von Abwasser. 

viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_4474.jpg
viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_4413.jpg

INDIEN, EIN LAND DAS UNS AM HERZEN LIEGT.

Auf der einen Seite pulsierende Metropolen und Technologie-Standorte. Auf der anderen Seite Regionen, in denen es kaum sicheren Zugang zu sauberem Wasser gibt. Hier unfassbarer Reichtum an Kultur und Tradition, dort großer Nachholbedarf in Sachen sanitäre Infrastruktur und Abwassermanagement.

Indien ist ein Land zwischen Welten. Voller Gegensätze, aber zugleich auch voller Energie. Immer in Bewegung, immer mit einem Ziel vor Augen und darum eine Region, die viele Ansatzpunkte für wirkungsvolle Stiftungsarbeit bietet. Denn obwohl im Bereich WASH in den letzten 10 Jahren schon große Fortschritte erzielt wurden,  bleibt noch viel zu tun. Beispielsweise gehen 90 Prozent aller Abwässer aus Haushalten und Industrie ungeklärt in den Wasserkreislauf zurück. Ein heikler Punkt, wenn es um die Gesundheit der bevölkerungsreichsten Nation der Erde geht. Gleichzeitig aber auch die Chance, mit innovativen technologischen Lösungen und Expertise vor Ort – beispielsweise durch Filtrierung und die Aufbereitung von Abwasser – die Lebensqualität der Bevölkerung deutlich zu verbessern.

viega-foundation_mumbai_amit-chivilkar.jpg
viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_2688_ed
viega-foundation_JuliaKnop_India_3483.jpg
WASH INSTITUTE  |  ORGANISATION  |  HERAUSFORDERUNG  |  PROJEKT
viega-foundation_India_WASHI_Institute_0

WASH INSTITUTE: ABWASSER-ENTSORGUNG AUF NEUEN WEGEN.

DASRA  |  ORGANISATION  |  HERAUSFORDERUNG  |  PROJEKT
viega-foundation_India_Dasra_Ph_59_04-2_edited.jpg

DASRA: INKLUSIVE SANITÄR-VERSORGUNG FÜR DEN  NORDOSTEN INDIENS.

YUVA UNSTOPPABLE  |  ORGANISATION  |  HERAUSFORDERUNG  |  PROJEKT
viega-foundation_India_YUVA_TWBM0214-2_edited_edited_edited_edited.jpg

YUVA UNSTOPPABLE: KLUGE IDEEN MACHEN SCHULE.

viega-foundation_India_WASHI_Institute_0

WASH INSTITUTE: ABWASSER-ENTSORGUNG AUF NEUEN WEGEN.

Indien ist ein riesengroßes Land, in dem es – allein aus Gründen der Geographie – schlicht niemals möglich sein wird, alle Ortschaften an ein zentrales Abwassersystem anzuschließen.

 

Entsprechend sind innovative Wege gefragt, um der Bevölkerung den Zugang zu sicherem, geschütztem und nachhaltig nutzbarem Trinkwasser zu ermöglichen.

 

Wie dies gelingen kann, zeigt sich in den südindischen Bundesstaaten Kerala und Tamil Nadu. Hier schickt das von der Viega Foundation geförderte WASH INSTITUTE Trucks auf die Reise, die in den Dörfern Abwässer mit moderner Filtertechnik dezentral reinigen.

Links: Der Truck vom WASH Institute im Einsatz: Ein Mitarbeiter in Schutzkleidung steht neben einem Anwohner, dessen Abwassertank abgepumpt wurde. 

viega-foundation_India_Dasra_Ph_59_04-2_

DASRA: INKLUSIVE SANITÄR-VERSORGUNG FÜR DEN  NORDOSTEN INDIENS.

Sikkim und Jharkhand – wer diese indischen Staaten kennt, weiß, welche Herausforderungen sich hier stellen, wenn es um Sanitärversorgung geht. Diese Regionen sind schwer zugänglich und erhalten teils weniger Unterstützung als andere indische Bundesstaaten. Entsprechend standen sie bislang kaum im Fokus internationaler Bemühungen.

 

An diesem Punkt setzt die von uns geförderte Organisation Dasra, bzw. Impact Foundation, an. Sie macht Wissen, das in anderen Staaten Indiens bereits erworben wurde, dort zum Wirkhebel, wo Ressourcen und technologisches Know-How (noch) fehlen.

Links: Zwei Sanitärarbeiter in Schutzkleidung stehen an einem Truck zum Abpumpen von Abwasser.

viega-foundation_India_YUVA_TWBM0214-2_e

YUVA UNSTOPPABLE: KLUGE IDEEN MACHEN SCHULE.

YUVA lässt sich nicht aufhalten. Denn die Organisation ist überzeugt: Wer die Zukunft in Indien positiv beeinflussen will, muss bei denen ansetzen, die sie gestalten werden – bei den Kindern und Jugendlichen.

 

Wie maßgeblich für die Entfaltung ihrer Entwicklungspotenziale die Themen Wasser und Sanitärversorgung sind, zeigt sich z. B. in Gujarat. Hier sorgt YUVA mit smarten Maßnahmen und Technologien dafür, dass deutlich weniger Mädchen und Jungen ihre Schullaufbahn abbrechen.

Links: Jungen sitzen auf dem Schulhof einer Grundschule, in der YUVA aktiv ist.

MUT STEHT
AM ANFANG DES HANDELNS,
GLÜCK AM ENDE.

DEMOKRIT

bottom of page